The Leewards Islands Cricket Board Men’s 50 Over Championship Individual Prizes and Winners

Individual Awards

The Auckland Hector Best Wicket-Keeper – Mr. Jaison Peters (Montserrat)

The Robert Jeffers Most Discipline Team – Team St. Kitts

The Haycene Ryan Batsman with the Highest Individual Score – Mr. Rahkeem Cornwall (Antigua & Barbuda 118 not out vs Montserrat.)

The Austin White Bowler with the Most Wickets – Mr. Deno Baker (Montserrat) &
Mr. Daniel Doram (Smarten) 10 wickets each.

The Keith Arthurton Best Fielding Team- Team St. Kitts

The Davon Williams Batsman with the Most Runs- Mr. Rahkeem Cornwall (278 runs Antigua & Barbuda).

The Lesroy Weekes Bowler with the Best Bowling Figures Mr. Deno Baker (Montserrat 6/23 vs St Maarten.)

The Bertrand Osborne Batsman who scored A Century in the Tournament-
Mr. Rahkeem Cornwall (Antigua & Barbuda 118 not out.)
Mr. Chesney Hughes (Anguilla 104)

The Jim Allen Most Valuable Player of the Leeward Islands Men’s 50 Overs Championship 2018- Mr. Rahkeem Cornwall (Antigua & Barbuda)

Batsman with the Most Runs for Each Country:

Anguilla – Mr. Chesney Hughes (190 runs)

Antigua & Barbuda- Mr. Rahkeem Cornwall (278 runs)

St Maarten- Mr. Akeem Charles (75 runs)

Nevis – Mr. Adelvin Phillip (193 runs)

St Kitts – Mr. Akeem Saunders (176 runs)

Montserrat – Mr. Jaison Peters (213 runs)

Bowler with the Most Wickets for Each Country:

Anguilla – Mr. Chesney Hughes/ Mr. Yannick Leonard (7 wickets each)

Antigua & Barbuda – Mr. Karima Gore (7 wickets)

St Maarten Mr. Daniel Doram (10 wickets)

Nevis – Mr. Nelson Bolan (7 wickets)

St Kitts – Mr. Jeremiah Louis (9 wickets)

Montserrat – Mr. Deno Baker (10 wickets)

Most Valuable Player for Each Country 2018:

The Lanville Harrigan M.V.P for Anguilla- Mr. Chesney Hughes

The Sylvester Joseph M.V.P for Antigua & Barbuda- Mr. Rahkeem Cornwall

The Imran Mc Sood M.V.P for St. Maarten- Mr. Daniel Doram

The Stuart Williams M.V.P for Nevis- Mr. Adelvin Phillip

The Shane Jeffers M.V.P for St Kitts- Mr. Terrance Warde

The Bennette Roach M.V.P for Montserrat- Mr. Jaison Peters

Final Country Standings for the Leeward Islands 2018 Men’s Championship:

Champions – Team St Kitts
Second Place- Team Antigua & Barbuda
Third Place- Team Anguilla.

Round 2 – Antigua and Barbuda defeated Nevis by 6 wickets. St.Kitts vs St.Maarten rained out.


September 19th 2018

Antigua and Barbuda vs Nevis @ Salem Park

Game reduced to 25 overs a piece.Antigua won the toss and fielded first restricted Nevis to 134 for 9 off 25 overs. A.Phillip top scored with 40 not out.T.Willet made 28 and J.Cornelius made a quick fire 22.Bowling for Antigua:O.Peters:5-0-36-3.R.Cornwall:5-1-14-2.D.Lowenfield,N.Henry,and S.Simon get a wkt each.Antigua turn to the crease made 135 for 4 off 21 overs.Batting for Antigua:R.Cornwall made 40 not out,K.James made: 32,O.Peters made27 ,D.Lowenfield made 16.Bowling for Nevis:N.Boland:5-0-19-2,J.Williams and J.Cornelius had a wkt a piece.Antigua won by 6 wkts

St.Kitts vs St.Maarten @ Little Bay

The other game between St.Kitts vs St.Maarten @ Little Bay was abandoned without a ball being bowled

Winning Starts For Montserrat and St. Kitts to open LICB 50 Over Championship


Sept 18th 2018 – Salem Park Montserrat

Montserrat defeated St. Maarten by 5 wickets to open the LICB 50 overs Championship. Chasing 133 runs for victory, Monserrat completed the task with 24 overs to spare. Montserrat were pilotted to the victorious total by leading scorer Shawin Tuitt who scored 39 runs from 36 balls opening the innings for Montserrat. He was assisted by his opening partner Joshua Grant who scored 32 runs from 48 balls both of whom featured in a 58 run opening partnership in 10.1 overs. After losing 3 quick wickets for in the space of 3 overs and 9 runs, Jaison Peters (20 runs) and Deno Baker (26 runs) both steered Montserrat to victory with an unbeaten 35 run partnership. Leading bowler for St. Maarten was Daniel Doram who took 3 wickets for 55 runs from 10 overs assisted by 1 apiece by Chad Hampson (1-35) and Shadrack Descarte (1-33).

Earlier St. Maarten was bowled out for 132 in 36.2 overs with the left handed Akeem Charles top-scoring with 34 runs. Mrinal Wadhwa contributed 23 runs to the total. Both batsmen contributed to the most productive partnership of the innings scoring 60 runs for the third wicket. But Deno Baker’s 6 wicket performance which included the wickets of both batsmen ensured that St. Maarten were limited to 132 runs. Baker’s final figures were 6 for 25 from 10 overs contributing to his stellar all round performance that earned him the Man-of-the-Match.

Meanwhile at Little Bay, St. Kitts trounced Anguilla by 8 wickets. After winning the toss, St. Kitts elected to field and immediately took control of the game. After Jeremiah Louis made the initial break-through, off spinner Terrance Ward and left-arm spinner Elvin Berridge, dominated the Anguillan batsmen to bundle them out for 85 runs. Ward ended with 5-20 from his 10 overs while Berridge ended with 3-13 from 8 overs. Top-scoring for Anguilla was Keacey Carty who scored 23 runs from 46 balls.

In reply, Larry Audain steered St. Kitts to victory with an unbeaten 38 runs from 60 ball assisted by Akeem Saunders’ 55 ball 33 runs as they scored 88 runs for the loss of 2 wickets in 22 overs. Successful bowlers for Anguilla were Jadell Richardson and Yannick Leonard with a wicket each. Ward earned Man-of-the-Match honours for his outstanding performance.

The competition continues tomorrow with Antigua and Barbuda vs Nevis at Salem Park and St. Maarten vs St. Kitts at